Getty

Getty

Former NFL running back and Heisman trophy winner Eddie George is working on a 1-man show about his life.

George told TMZ Sports that the play will have elements of Shakespeare and hip hop.

George has been focused on the theater ever since he hung up his cleats in 2004. He says that he found it therapeutic to help cope with the adjustment into his post football life.

After acting in several productions, he decided it’s time to write his own play.

“It starts with my dream of playing football … and I use anecdotes about my father, mother, coaches and other important people in my life to tell my story.”

George added, “I wove in some hip hop to help chronologically tell the story … and some Shakespeare-style storytelling to go along with the hip hop.”

Eddie says John Leguizamo has had a huge influence in his transformation into a thespian. “I went to see John on Broadway and I was amazed. The way he broke the 4th wall, it was intriguing to me.”

As for his 1-man show, Eddie says he’s currently looking for a director and can’t wait to get it up on the stage. He hopes to have it ready by the end of the year.

Source: TMZ Sports