Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Former Washington Wizards guard, Gilbert Arenas will try to re-join the League, he says, for the final time next season. Arenas, 32, tells CBS DC that he’s training hard for a comeback. He also disputes rumors that he’s still getting $20 million in NBA checks a year

When asked about ESPN the Magazine publishing a list of the 32 highest-paid athletes in the world, on which Gilbert came in at No. 30, listed as making $22,346,536 in 2013.

“That’s not true. That’s not true,” Arenas said.

“Noooo, no, that’s been a fib for awhile,” Arenas replied. “No, when they did the amnesty [clause], when the amnesty came in, I think it was two years ago, what they did was, instead of me getting paid $20 [million] a year, they extended the years and dropped the money down. So instead of getting 20 I was getting 12 for a longer period of time. So I’m still getting paid until 2016.”

He also speaks about his comeback:

“I’m in the middle of training now,” Arenas said. “I said I’m gonna give it one more chance. I told Nick [Young] I’m gonna actually put some heart into it. You know, I lost it there for awhile.”

Arenas last appeared in an NBA in the playoffs for the Memphis Grizzlies on May 13, 2012.

His name does occasionally appear on a rap song here and there. “I bring all my guns to work/Gilbert Arenas,” said 2 Chainz

Source: SLAM