MARK J. TERRILL/AP

MARK J. TERRILL/AP

Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling is still on a mission to clear his name. Since the audio of a conversation that he had with then girlfriend, V. Stiviano, surfaced where Sterling repeatedly asked her not to bring African-American’s or any other minorities to his games.

Since then, the NBA commissioner moved forward to lay down sanctions on Sterling, including suspending him for life from the league and attempting to strip him from ownership of the Los Angeles Clippers.

Sterling conducted his first interview since the news broke with CNN’s Anderson Cooper.

“I’m a good member who made a mistake and I’m apologizing and I’m asking for forgiveness,” he told CNN’s¬†Anderson Cooper. “Am I entitled to one mistake, am I after 35 years? I mean, I love my league, I love my partners. Am I entitled to one mistake? It’s a terrible mistake, and I’ll never do it again.”

He added: “I’m not a racist. I made a terrible mistake.”

Sterling said he was distraught over the scandal, telling Cooper: “The reason it’s hard for me, very hard for me, is that I’m wrong. I caused the problem. I don’t know how to correct it,” he said.

When asked about his feelings of the tape that TMZ posted, he said

Sterling also said he was “baited” to make the comments on the recording.

“When I listen to that tape, I don’t even know how I can say words like that…. I don’t know why the girl had me say those things,” he said. “I was baited … I mean, that’s not the way I talk. I don’t talk about people for one thing, ever. I talk about ideas and other things. I don’t talk about people.”

Excerpts of the CNN interview, which will be broadcast Monday, were released hours after Sterling’s wife, Shelly, spoke with ABC’s Barbara Walters

Shelly Sterling said she may eventually divorce Donald Sterling and will fight efforts to force her to sell her share of the L.A. Clippers.

Source: Los Angeles Times