Rap Up

Rap Up

Whether you want to like it or not, Iggy Azalea has had a pretty decent year. Her single, “Fancy” has made a strong presence on radio, while her debut album, New Classic became the highest charting album from a female rapper since Nicki Minaj.

Nicki, who’s working on her own album, Pink Print, had nothing but good words to say about Iggy and her success.

When asked about the Aussie rap sensation in a radio interview this week, Nicki gave her props.

“I think that congratulations is in order. Her single is doing really, really well and I think that’s a good thing,” she said of Iggy’s hit “Fancy,” which is currently No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100.

“One thing I’m not is a hater. If somebody is doing something and they did it well, and their song is charting well, then congratulations.”

Nicki made it clear that she helped pave the way. “I just want female rappers to understand that I’ve kicked in a lot of doors for them and I just would appreciate if they would acknowledge that,” said Nicki.

Hear Nicki congratulate Iggy in the full interview here.